About Us

This is one of the four departments in the School of Dental Sciences. The department was formally established in 1995 when the then department of Dental Surgery was elevated to a faculty status. Previously, the department of Dental Surgery had existed as a department in the Faculty of Medicine. With its elevation the Department of Dental Surgery became a full faculty with four departments; namely the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral Pathology & Oral Medicine, the Department of Periodontology and Community Dentistry, the Department of Paediatric Dentistry and Orthodontics, and the Department of Conservative and Prosthetic Dentistry.

Since its formal establishment the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral Pathology & Oral Medicine has seen tremendous growth and development and now has three divisions; the division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, the division of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine and division of Oral and Maxillofacial Diagnostic Imaging.

The department has 13 academic and 27 non-academic members of staff, making it the largest department in the School.

The department has out patient and in patient clinical services, has a well equipped operating theatre, a teaching and diagnostic pathology laboratory, a 12 bed ward and modern x-ray unit.

The department teaches both undergraduate and postgraduate courses in oral and maxillofacial surgery. A four-year Masters Degree course in oral and maxillofacial surgery (MDS-OMFS) was started in 2001 and the department has since graduated 22 students drawn from within the country and across Africa. The course remains competitive and attracts applicants from within the country and the region.

Together with Kenyatta National Hospital, its affiliated National referral hospital, the department offers an exciting rewarding learning experience.

In the next few years, the department hopes to join with affiliated services to form the University of Nairobi Head and Neck Surgical Sciences.

Important Mile Stones

1974:    Department of Dental Surgery established in the Faculty of Medicine.

1995:    Department of OMFS/OPOM formally established.

2001:    Masters program in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery.

2005:    First graduation of MDS-OMFS.